Download Your Copy Now



Sabah has international air links to major destinations in East Asia and Australia. All international arrivals and departures are directed to Kota Kinabalu, the Capital City of Sabah. Most international air links from Europe and America can be connected through major cities in the South East Asia region such as Hong Kong, Kuala Lumpur, Singapore, Tokyo, Seoul, Taipei, Manila and Bandar Seri Begawan.


Kota Kinabalu International Airport is the gate way to Sabah. Located 7 Km from the city of Kota Kinabalu. The only mode of public transport from the Airport is by taxi. Journey from the airport to the city is controlled where only airport taxis are allowed to pick up passengers. Please don’t forget to purchase your taxi coupons from the taxi counter outside arrival hall. Two Money changers are available outside the arrival hall to change your foreign currency or traveler’s cheques. All airport trolleys are free of charge. Some hotels provide shuttle bus to pick up passengers from the air port.


A valid passport (and visa wherever applicable) is required for of everyone entering Malaysia. A passport is also necessary for travel between Peninsular Malaysia and the East Malaysian states of Sabah and Sarawak, as well as interstate travel between Sabah and Sarawak. A social or Tourist Visit Pass does not permit the holder to take up employment, business of professional work in Malaysia. The Business Visit Pass allows foreign negotiations or inspection of business establishments. These passes, however cannot be used for employment purposes or for supervising the installation of new machinery of construction of a factory. No fee is charge for a Business Visit Pass issued for a period of up to three months. A fee of RM5.00 is imposed for each month thereafter.


All international arrivals must go through custom clearance. No duty free items are allowed from flights from Peninsular Malaysia and Sarawak. However, visitors from Labuan are allowed to purchase duty free goods if they stay more than 24 hrs in Labuan Island. Please click here for more info. Please note that pornography, weapons and walkie talkies are prohibited. Items with triggers such as firearms, spear guns, air guns and etc are subject to licensing.


There are several popular airliners currently serving destinations to Sabah. From Europe, Australia one can take Brunei Airlines to reach Brunei and later opt reach Sabah by ferry (reaching Labuan) or by road. The National Airlines MAS serves international routes with transit via Kuala Lumper, the capital of Malaysia. Those from China, Hong Kong, Taiwan can choose Singapore Airlines or it’s partner Tiger Airways. Airasia is the favourite domestic airlines, it’s sister company AirAsia X offers international destinations as far as London and Sdyney.


All visitors are required to complete an Arrival/Departure card, a Customs Declaration, and if required, a Travelers Declaration Form (TDF) and Quarantine Form. These are given out during all inbound Malaysia Airlines’ flights. Travelers are no longer required to complete the TDF except under the following circumstances:
Resident and non-resident travelers who carry Ringgit in excess of RM 1,000.00

Resident travelers who take out foreign currency notes and/or travelers cheques exceeding the equivalent of RM 10,000.
Non-resident travelers who bring into Malaysia more than US$2,500 equivalent.

The current practice of obtaining prior written approval from Bank Negara Malaysia remains unchanged for the following:

Resident and non-resident travelers who carry Ringgit in excess of RM 1,000.00

Resident travelers who take out foreign currency notes and/or travelers cheques exceeding the equivalent of RM 10,000.

Non-Resident travelers who take out foreign notes and traveler’s cheques in excess of the amount brought in, provided the amount taken out is more than the equivalent of US$ 2,500.

The TDF form should be handed to the immigration officer together with the disembarkation card and passport.


Under a special arrangement during the formation of Malaysia, non-local Sabahans must filled in immigration papers before entry into Sabah. This is inclusive of foreign, Sarawak and Peninsular Malaysia Residents. Passport must be valid for a period of 6 months from the time of your visit to Sabah. Upon arrival, visas given are normally for 30 days, and can be extended for another 60 days at the Immigration Department in Kota Kinabalu.

Tourists from China will not require a visa to visit Malaysia between March 1 and Dec 31 this year. This was stated by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak when he announced the re-calibrated 2016 budget. He said the visa exemption for Chinese tourists would be subject to specific conditions for a period of stay not exceeding 15 days.

No visa is needed for nationals of Commonwealth countries except for Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Nigeria.

Nationals from Republic of Ireland, Switzerland, Netherlands, San Marino and Liechtenstein do not require visas.No visa is required for a stay not exceeding three months for nationals of Algeria, Austria, Bahrain, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Finland, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Japan. Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Luxembourg, Morocco, Norway, Oman, Poland, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Slovak, Republic of Korea, Sweden, Tunisia, Turkey, U.A.E., U.S.A. and Yemen.

No visa is required for U.S.A citizens visiting Malaysia for Social, business or academic purposes (except for local employment)

No visa is required for a stay of less than one month for nationals of all ASEAN countries and Hong Kong. For a stay exceeding one month a visa will be required, except for nationals of Brunei and Singapore.

No visa is required for a stay exceeding one month for nationals of Argentina, Angola, Benin, Bolivia, Bosnia Herzegovina, Brazil, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Chad, Chile, Colombia, Congo, Corsica, Costa Rica, Croatia, Djibouti, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, France, Gabon, Greece, Greenland, Guam, Guatemala, Guinea, Laos, Macedonia, Slovenia, South Africa and Zaire.

No visa is required for a stay not exceeding 14 days for nationals of Afghanistan, Iran, Iraq, Libya and Syria.

No visa is required for a stay not exceeding seven days for nationals of Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bulgaria, Byelorussia, Estonia, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kirghisztan, Latvia, Lithuania, Moldovia, Romania, Russian Federation, Tadjikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine and Uzbeskitan.

Nationals of Bangladesh, Bhutan,  Cuba, India, Myanmar, Nepal, Nigeria, North Korea, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Vietnam and Certificate of Identity (CI) holders must obtain a visa before entering Malaysia.

Nationals of countries other than those stated above (with the exception of Israel) are allowed to enter Malaysia without a visa for a visit not exceeding one month.

*Regulations stated above are subject to change.